The Nebraska Center for the Book

Related Links


Jane Geske Award

The Nebraska Center for the Book annually presents this award to an organization, business, library, school, association, or other group that has made an exceptional contribution to literacy, books, reading, libraries, or Nebraska literature. More...

2017 Award Recipient
American Life in Poetry

Previous years’ recipients

Mildred Bennett Award

This award is given to an individual who provides leadership and service in the promotion of Nebraska literature. More...

2017 Award Recipient
Nancy Johnson

Previous years’ recipients

President's Award - Literacy

2017 Award Recipient
Hastings Literacy Program

Nebraska Book Awards

The Nebraska Book Awards program, sponsored by the Nebraska Center for the Book (NCB), recognizes and honors books that are written by Nebraska authors, published by Nebraska publishers, set in Nebraska or concerning Nebraska. More...

2017 (18th annual) for books published in 2016

Not Quite So Stories, by David S Atkinson
Publisher: Literary Wanderlust
Children's Picture Book
Choose Your Days, by Paula S. Wallace
Publisher: Cinco Puntos Press
Young Adult
Keeping Captain, by N. L. Sharp
Publisher: Prairieland Press
Young Adult Honor
The Ghost Juggler, by Nona Brooks Morrison
Publisher: Prairieland Press
Okoboji: Over 160 Years of History and Images, by Cristy Clarke Hedgpeth
Editing and content design by Sandra Wendel and Ellie Pelto. Graphic Design by Rachel Moore. Production by Lisa Pelto, Concierge Marketing
Publisher: Hedgpeth Publishing
Illustration Honor
Leaves of Absence: An Illustrated Guide to Common Garden Affection, by Laura Madeline Wiseman
Art by Sally Deskins
Publisher: CreateSpace
The Bones of Paradise: A Novel, by Jonis Agee
Publisher: William Morrow
Fiction: Short Story Honor
Where We Land: Stories, by Daryl Farmer
Publisher: Brighthorse Books
Nonfiction Biography
A Warrior of the People: How Susan La Flesche Overcame Racial and Gender Inequality to Become America’s First Indian Doctor, by Joe Starita
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Nonfiction Folklore
Why I’m an Only Child and Other Slightly Naughty Plains Folktales, by Roger L. Welsch
Publisher: University of Nebraska Press
Nonfiction Memoir
Bread: A Memoir of Hunger, by Lisa Knopp
Publisher: University of Missouri Press
Nonfiction Photography
Last Days of Red Cloud Agency, by Thomas R. Buecker
Publisher: Nebraska State Historical Society Books
Nonfiction Reference
Great Plains Indians, by David J. Wishart
Publisher: University of Nebraska Press
Nonfiction Travel
Trespassing Across America: One Man's Epic, Never-Done-Before (and Sort of Illegal) Hike Across the Heartland , by Ken Ilgunas
Publisher: Blue Rider Press
Homing: The Collected Poems of Don Welch (1975-2015), edited by Dwaine Spieker
Publisher: Rogue Faculty Press
Poetry Honor
I Have Nothing to Say about Fire, by Marjorie Saiser
Publisher: The Backwaters Press
Poetry Honor
Singing and Dying, by Glenna Luschei
Publisher: Penciled In

Previous years’ recipients

Other awards

Locate outstanding state, national and international book award winners and nominees. More...

Related Links

> Back to top