The Nebraska Center for the Book

Related Links

Jane Geske Award

About the Award

Jane Geske

The Jane Geske Award recognizes a Nebraska association, organization, business, library, school, academic institution, or other group that has made an exceptional, long-term contribution to one or more of these fields in Nebraska: Literacy, Reading, Bookselling, Books, Libraries, and Writing. The award is presented at the Celebration of Nebraska Books/Annual Meeting of the Nebraska Center for the Book. The award is supported by the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress.


Please nominate now for the 2024 Jane Geske Award. The deadline is August 15, 2024. Nominations received after the deadline will be considered for the 2025 Jane Geske Award. Organizations are welcome to nominate themselves.

To submit a nomination please use the Jane Geske Award Nomination Form


The Award is given in honor of Jane Geske, former director of the Nebraska Library Commission, a founding member of the Nebraska Center for the Book, and a long-time active member in many Nebraska library and literary activities. The award was first announced on Friday, February 28, 1992, at the Lincoln University Club. It was established in recognition of Jane Geske’s contributions to the well-being of the libraries of Nebraska.


b. Sutton, Nebraska, Dec 27, 1918
d. Lincoln, Nebraska, Sep 8, 1999

Nebraska Library Commission – Jane Pope Geske began her life at the Nebraska Public Library Commission as a consultant in 1960. She served as consultant until 1969 when she became Interim Executive Secretary of the Nebraska Public Library Commission on July 1 at the retirement of Louise Nixon. In 1973 she became the Director of the Nebraska Library Commission. She held this position until 1976 when she resigned.

Geske was active in many arenas. She worked at many libraries throughout her career. She belonged to numerous organizations including being a founding member and president of the Friends of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries and Nebraska Heritage Association. She was a founding member of the Nebraska Center for the Book. She served as president of the Nebraska Library Association. She was a bookseller and life-long book lover. Her connection to the world of art is found in her membership and presidency of the Nebraska Arts Council and the Nebraska Art Association.

Among the awards she received in her lifetime were the Meritorious Service Award from the Nebraska Library Association and the Mayor’s Arts Award. Two awards were presented in her honor: Jane Geske Scholarship, a one-time award to a Nebraska student entering the third year of the Emporia State University graduate library and information science program in Nebraska; and the Jane Geske Award presented by the Nebraska Center for the Book. Read the complete biography.

Award Recipients

Go to the comprehensive list of winners, dating back to 1992.

> Back to top