The Nebraska Center for the Book

Related Links

Celebration of Nebraska Books

Nebraska Book Awards The celebration, free and open to the public, will feature presentations of the Nebraska Center for the Book's Nebraska Book Awards, Mildred Bennett Award and Jane Geske Award. The 2016 Nebraska Book Awards honor authors and publishers of books with a Nebraska connection published in 2015. Featured winning authors will read from their work and sign copies of their books. The 2016 Jane Geske Award will be presented for exceptional contribution to literacy, books, reading, libraries, or literature in Nebraska. The Jane Geske Award commemorates Geske's passion for books, and was established in recognition of her contributions to the well-being of the libraries of Nebraska. Jane Pope Geske was a founding member of the Nebraska Center for the Book, former director of the Nebraska Library Commission, and a long-time leader in Nebraska library and literary activities. The Mildred Bennett Award will recognize an individual who has made a significant contribution to the fostering of the literary tradition in Nebraska. Its purpose is to remind us all of the literary and intellectual traditions that enrich our lives and mold our world. The 2016 One Book One Nebraska book selection, The Meaning of Names by Karen Gettert Shoemaker will be featured, with a presentation by Shoemaker.

The Nebraska Center for the Book Annual Meeting will be held at 1:30 p.m., just prior to the celebration. An Awards Reception honoring the winning authors, book signing, and an announcement of the 2017 One Book One Nebraska book choice concluded the festivities.

1:30 p.m. Nebraska Center for the Book Annual Meeting
2:30 p.m. Welcome to the Celebration of Nebraska Books
2:45 p.m. 2016 One Book One Nebraska Presentation Celebrating The Meaning of Names, by Karen Gettert Shoemaker
3:30 p.m. 2016 Jane Geske Award Presentation
3:45 p.m. 2016 Mildred Bennett Award Presentation
4:00 p.m. 2016 Nebraska Book Awards Presentation and Readings by Winning Authors
5:30 p.m. 2017 One Book One Nebraska Announcement, Awards Reception and Book Signing
6:30 p.m. Closing

The 2016 Celebration of Nebraska Books is sponsored by the Nebraska Center for the Book and Nebraska Library Commission. For more information contact Mary Jo Ryan, 402-471-3434 or 800-307-2665, or visit the Facebook pages of the Nebraska Center for the Book, Nebraska Library Commission, and One Book One Nebraska.

Past Annual Meetings

Related Links

> Back to top